human behavior

The Art of Politics

Posted in American Culture & Politics, Art, Crafts by humanb on December 29, 2012

This Christmas holiday I was determined to create something artistic. I even promised as much to a nurse at work who shares my arts & craft obsession. I call it an ‘obsession’ and not an ‘addiction’ as I spend infinitely more time thinking about arts and crafts than doing them. But this week was different.

I actually produced something again.

I’d had this project in mind since the US presidential election. After receiving my billionth fundraising email from the Obama campaign, I decided to respond differently: rather than giving the campaign money (which I’d done already), or reflexively deleting the email (which I’d done 99% of the time), I went shopping at the Obama online store.

I bought a retro T-shirt (which I have the audacity to wear around Sydney), a pair of tube socks (which I’ve yet to wear), a few bumper stickers (which never made it to my bumper), and the complete collection of Obama 2012 political buttons.

People who obsess about arts & crafts rather than doing them, tend to have ample supplies – including paint and stretched canvases of varying size. So here’s what you can do in a matter of hours with a bag of buttons:

buttons_front1

‘Made in the USA’, 24 in x 24 in, acrylic paint and buttons on stretched canvas

I fixed the buttons to the canvas the traditional way – i.e., pinned them to the canvas as they would be to a shirt. For some reason it was very important to me that I do it this way. Unfortunately, pinning the buttons equidistantly proved a much trickier proposition than other methods and so required laborious measurements.

The fun part was selecting my shades of red, blue and grey, and arranging the buttons over certain colors and in specific patterns so as to best present each one…

buttons_stripred

As one button was much larger than the rest (and much funnier), I made it the centerpiece:

buttons_center

A closer view…

button_large

Given the relative ease of the craft process and simplicity of the idea, I was rather pleased with the result, and declared it ready to hang. As it wouldn’t be framed, I made sure to extend the paint colors to the sides of the picture.

buttons_angle

Whatever happens over the next four years, Obama’s presidency will remain an historic one, and so this project will forever be a talking point and memorial to one of America’s seminal moments. Perhaps I should’ve done something like this for the 2008 election.

Ah well.

I consider his 2012 victory almost as remarkable as his first.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Condors said, on December 29, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Wow! The project turned out fantastic!

  2. humanb said, on December 29, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Thanks. 🙂

  3. […] Human Behavior The Art of Politics […]


Leave a Reply

