human behavior

Easy End Table Mosaic

Posted in Art, Crafts by humanb on October 11, 2012

My husband would love to see the end of my mosaic-madness (and my used furniture shopping). But I’ve got plenty of tiles left which really shouldn’t go to waste, and I found a gorgeous little used end table for only $15, asking only for a new surface.

The beauty of this project was that I could cover most of the surface of the table with only a few tiles, and most of the tiles were already connected with netting.

It took less than an hour to glue all of my tiles on to the surface.

It took even less time to grout the table with my favourite black-coloured grout.

Here’s the final result:

It kind of reminds me of a board game surface, but I think it looks more elegant than kitsch. Art deco maybe?

Regardless, this little end table is easily ten times prettier than it was before.

Huzzah!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jar Of Salt said, on October 11, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Oooooh…. very nice!!! How do you get the tiles to fit perfectly and what cutter can one use? So pretty!

    • humanb said, on October 12, 2012 at 12:03 am

      No cutter needed for these tiles. I just picked tiles that would fit the surface and adjusted the spacing to make things neat and balanced. 🙂

      • Jar Of Salt said, on October 12, 2012 at 12:23 am

        Which makes it even more impressive since you could pretty much estimate how each piece will fit — I probably would not be as lucky 😦


Leave a Reply

