human behavior

Craft Fun: Comic Coasters

Posted in Art, Miscellaneous by humanb on July 10, 2012

This month marks the end of my three-year flirtation with comic books. As a result, I’ll no longer be receiving my comic book store’s newsletter with the delivery of my latest issue. Therefore, so also marks the end of my fun with comic book coasters. 😦

I had a number of old cork coasters covered in prints of Van Gogh paintings that were stained and ratty looking; so I thought about how I might freshen them up as an alternative to throwing them out. I initially opted for covering them in scrap paper, using craft glue for adhesive and puzzle glue for a water-resistant overcoat.

I was happy with the result, but the coasters weren’t terribly exciting. It was only when I received the latest issue of my comic book with its accompanying newsletter, that an idea struck.

Yay. I loved these. The newsprint was fairly thin, so the challenge was soaking the surface with enough puzzle glue to prevent water stains from cups, but without destroying the newsprint in the process. I learned that lesson from the first coaster above, now slightly stained.

I could barely wait a whole month to get my next issue – not for the comic, but for my craft supplies.

With this lot, I actually bought a few cheap, brown compressed cardboard coasters from my local craft store. Superwoman has already stained – another case of too little puzzle glue on top – and the Bionic Woman is just not very interesting. But there was always next month to redeem myself.

Vampirella! You’re gorgeous. As is this goblin or whatever. Success. πŸ™‚

Ditto with these two. Perfect. πŸ™‚

But now I’ve decided to stop buying my comic, unhappy with the plot direction and overall story arc. So I’ll have to return to craft paper, or find another project.

“You and your projects!” my husband always teases.

Indeed.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on July 11, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Love them!

  2. lolly0 said, on September 23, 2012 at 10:13 am

    That is so cool! I am LOVING your blogs lol


Leave a Reply

