human behavior

Art Buy: Beautiful Realism

Posted in Art, Travel by humanb on March 6, 2012

Not all of my purchases from the Daily Painters Gallery are selfish.

This past Christmas I purchased my husband a small oil painting I found at the Gallery. It was a piece of contemporary realism which, while expertly done, would have left me as cold as most realist paintings do, were this particular painting not so reminiscent of a short but sublime trip to Paris we took last year. (I really should picture blog about that trip.)

The painting is of macaroons, and I was only introduced to this now globally en vogue dessert while in Paris in 2011. My husband and I had noticed every patisserie in Paris selling the pastry, and each shop window seemed to outshine the next with its mountainous displays of macaroons in deep, glorious colors. I’m sure no other country in the world can outdo France in the art of the display of objects. Aesthetics isn’t everything there, but its bloody important, and sometimes seemingly more a concern than function.

I kinda love that.

So here’s the painting, named Macaron Study Number IV:

Macaron Study IV, 6 in X 6 in, oil on canvas

It was made by an artist of unbelievable technical skill named Jelaine Faunce, and being number IV, it’s obviously not her first macaroon study. Here are numbers I, II and III – all of which are inferior to number IV in my view.

So I didn’t buy number IV simply because it was a painting of macaroons. It’s a successful painting. It has a lightness and playfulness reminiscent of my first macaroon in Paris, though it is a shadow of that particular piece of magic:

My First Macaron, from Pierre Hermé, 72, rue Bonaparte, Saint-Germain des Prés, Paris, 2011

I took great pains to frame the painting appropriately, with a charm and panache that demanded attention be paid to so small a piece. I’m pretty pleased with the result, though my photography in this instance is poor. The frame is not quite so gold as it seems, and has purposeful scratches in its detail.

My husband was happy with the painting, but not overly so. I suppose in the end, it was one of those gifts that was intended for him, but that I was destined to enjoy more. I seem to give a lot of gifts like that.

But I hope at least that the message on the card that accompanied the painting still touches his heart when he passes by the painting on the wall:

We’ll always have Paris.

Leave a Reply

