human behavior

Art Break: Boxed In

Posted in Art by humanb on October 13, 2010

With exams over, I have the week off before I’m back at the hospital for 6 weeks of pre-internship. I start work as a junior doctor in January.  So this was my golden opportunity to finally paint, which I haven’t done in earnest in about five years. It’s been even longer since I’ve painted in oil. So forgive me my naïve style. I really don’t know what I’m doing.

I call this little window Boxed In.

"Boxed In", oil on canvas, 8x10

There are too many problems here to count. Problems of light and shadow, of perspective and color, of technique. But the spirit of the thing is almost right.

You look at this picture and feel anything but free.

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on October 14, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I would like to order a print of Boxed In.


Leave a Reply

