human behavior

Welcome to Australia

My 10 week visit to the US has ended. On Sunday, I left a bitter cold Michigan to land 28 hours later into Sydney’s suffocating humidity.  I had mixed feelings on landing. The more places I go, the less at home I feel anywhere. What is Australia to me?

Before leaving Sydney airport, I made a bathroom stop and found an exaggerated illustration of my conflicted relationship with Australia on the inside of my bathroom stall door:

Classic. A defiant and defensive patriotism expressed with characteristic crudity and brevity. A communication style both artful and efficient.

Welcome to Australia.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. condore said, on February 24, 2010 at 3:12 am

    Welcome home!


Leave a Reply

