human behavior

This is Sydney: Jacarandas

Posted in Foreign Impressions, Sydney, Travel by humanb on November 7, 2009

Sydney is different things to different people. My Sydney is narrow and visual. It is a compilation of images, an accumulation of moments in time where I stop, take notice, and conclude, yes, this is Sydney.

Sydney is purple petals against tile roofs of baked, red clay. It’s a city of indestructible dirty brick homes, small and stifling with tiny windows, but kept cooler by the shade of Jacarandas in bloom. Sydney is a paradox. It looks dry and parched in all its color.

This is Sydney.

jac_street

And this is Sydney.

jac_house3

And this is Sydney.

jac_house2

And this is Sydney.

jac_neighborhood

And this is Sydney.

jac_carabella

And this is Sydney.

jaca_fall

And this is Sydney.

jaca_dream

Jacarandas everywhere you look. They’re uninspiring trees for most of the year, but they quite suddenly demand your attention one day in spring.

That means summer is coming…

Tagged with: , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lisameesakasi said, on July 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Wonderful 😉
    Very nicely composed.

  2. Moranna said, on August 31, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I love Jacarandas and they certainly grace Sydney. We live just south of Valencia in Spain, and some of our cities have quite a lot of Jacarandas. We have just bought a young Jacaranda and can’t wait for it to flower.

  3. paintlater said, on March 27, 2012 at 6:56 am

    I used to sell art supplies and as soon as the jacarandas flowered I would sell out of purple pastels. Not sure why they work so well against that blue sky, maybe you got it with the terracotta roof but they certainly feel very Sydney. We also have a Jacaranda festival in northern NSW too. I could never get a jacaranda to grow- I think they do it on purpose. Cheers Sue

  4. humanb said, on March 27, 2012 at 6:59 am

    I can believe you’d sell out of the purple pastel when the jacarandas flower, because I bought three shades of it myself! I still haven’t painted my pastel of them though. I envision something large and am slightly intimidated by the task of doing them justice.

  5. Kavita Joshi said, on May 11, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    I so love this city..thanks a lot for sharing ..beautiful pics


Leave a Reply

