human behavior

The Fast Diet: Week 3 Results

Posted in Health & Medicine by humanb on March 30, 2013

So I’ve just completed my third week on The Fast Diet. I’ve been restricting my calories to 500 daily on two non-consecutive days a week – usually Mondays and Thursdays. This week I decided to flip the script.

Previously, I would eat 200 calories for breakfast and then 300 calories for dinner. It was doable but not remotely fun; and I was curious to see how I would go if I only ate one meal a day in the evening. There’s something about eating even the smallest bit of food that makes you want more, so I thought I might be less hungry (and less annoyed) if I only ate once.

So Monday I skipped breakfast and felt just fine. Unfortunately, I had to stop on my way home to get gas for the car, and was confronted by the candy display at the checkout counter. My eyes were immediately drawn to the bright orange wrapper of the most delicious thing to ever come out of Hershey, Pennsylvania.

reese

But guess what? Two Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups is only 210 calories. That’s breakfast! So I could call that a very late breakfast (since it was 6:00 pm), enjoy the hell out of it on my way home, and still have my 300 calorie dinner in a few hours.

The Fast Diet was rapidly becoming the most awesome diet every invented. I mean, seriously: what other diet lets you eat peanut butter cups?

I had my dinner as planned, and didn’t spend one second pouting about the fact that I couldn’t eat more (or have a Scotch).

But then the clock struck ten, and I don’t know what the hell happened to me. I was seized, I guess, with an overwhelming apathy about the whole f*cking enterprise. I had a big bowel of pasta with meat sauce, and then followed it up with a bowel of sugary cereal. And then washed it all down with two glasses of cheap Shiraz.

And I didn’t feel remotely guilty about it.

But that’s the beauty of The Fast Diet. I didn’t have to feel guilty, because I didn’t cheat or fail or ruin anything. The diet says you have to calorie-restrict for two non-consecutive days. So Monday was a bust. There was always Tuesday.

And Tuesday went fine. And so did Thursday. Perhaps they went well because I went back to eating two meals a day (and maybe also because I didn’t stop at the gas station).

So let’s see what the scale thought of my efforts this week…

________________________________________________________

Starting Weight: 58 kg (128 lbs)

Ideal Body Weight: 52 kg (115 lbs)

After One Week: 57 kg (126 lbs)

After Two Weeks: 55.4 kg (122 lbs)

________________________________________________________

And yesterday, after three weeks:

diet_week3

Weight loss!

Okay, not as much as last week, but still. 54.9 kg = 121 lbs. So I lost one pound this past week and a total of 3 kg (7 lbs) in the last three weeks. I now weigh what I did when I moved to Australia eight years ago, so I’ve shaved off eight years of weight gain in 21 days.

But I’ve still got the same amount of weight to lose again before I reach my ideal body weight. I suspect my successes will be smaller each week as I have less to lose. We’ll see. But I’m certainly inspired by my results so far to stick with the diet for the moment.

Especially since it lets me eat peanut butter cups. ;-)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bodhisattvaintraining said, on March 30, 2013 at 7:16 am

    I’m trying it too, I have a lot more to lose :-) so far so good…

  2. dorothyadele said, on March 30, 2013 at 8:21 am

    Doesn’t it make more sense to eat healthy, cut back on your intake and exercise? How do you plan to keep the weight off when you reach your target?

    • humanb said, on March 30, 2013 at 8:58 am

      Of course. We should eat more healthfully, period. That is the answer for weight control, weight loss, and more importantly, health itself and disease prevention. As for cutting back on your intake, that is the principle of all diets. This diet just proposes a different model for cutting back on your intake – twice a week instead of constantly – presumably because many people find it too difficult to constantly count calories and ultimately give up completely on calorie restriction at all. And yes, of course, exercise is sensible and the secret to good health and disease prevention. See my first post on this diet for my discussion of exercise. As for keeping the weight off, the reason I’m experimenting with this diet, is precisely because I thought it might be one I could sustain in the longterm. In other words, if it works and I see no adverse effects from it, then I intend to continue it indefinitely.

      You can tell people to eat fruits, vegetables, lean fish and meats. You can tell people to eliminate sugar, added salt, processed foods, and excess alcohol. And you can remind them of the importance of a minimum of 30 minutes of moderate intensity exercise daily. But the reality is that most of us (myself included) don’t want to or find it difficult to lead a model lifestyle every hour of every day of every week, but we can lead *improved* lifestyles. Weight control and calorie restriction are paramount to health, and the consequence of calorie restriction two days a week *is* less consumption of unhealthful foods on ‘fast days’ and thus *cumulatively*. Monday was the first day I had sugar on a ‘fast day’, for example, and I was unsuccessful. I didn’t make that mistake again. My diet, when adhered to properly on ‘fast days’ has otherwise been quite healthful.

      Education about good health is critical, but small steps towards good health are more achievable and more realistic than people responding wholeheartedly to being preached at it to simply ‘Eat less!’ and ‘Eat healthfully!’. Asking people to try to limit their caloric intake for two days a week is a good and solid start. Once people know they can do this, they grow in confidence to do more.

      NB: These posts are not a prescription to my readers. As I stated in my first post on the subject, this is a study of one – my own small experimental steps towards calorie reduction to achieve weight loss, which I haven’t been able to achieve previously. I am not a weight loss guru, dietitian, personal trainer or endocrinologist. There is no one person who has the secret to weight loss for everyone. But I offer my experiences, successes and failures as food for thought. ;-)

  3. Natural Cleanse Diets said, on May 11, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your
    blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 631 other followers

